The BC Wildfire Service has issued a province-wide fire ban starting at noon today. The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) will be following the provincial regulations which apply to campfires, beach fires, Category 2 and Category 3 open fires across the province. It will also include a smoking ban within all CVRD parks.

The ban will cover all CVRD Electoral Area Fire Departments including:

Oyster River Fire Department
Fanny Bay Fire Department
Hornby Island Fire Department
Union Bay Fire Department
Denman Island Fire Department

“With the increased heat wave we need to pay careful attention to our actions as the ground is tinder dry,” explains Bruce Green, Oyster River Fire Chief. “All fires including campfires and beach fires are now banned in the region. A Canadian Standards Association (CSA) or Underwriter Laboratories of Canada (ULC) rated portable campfire apparatus may be used and the flame height must not be bigger than 15 cm. As well, in order to protect CVRD parks, a smoking ban has also come into effect.”

For more information on your fire service area or to contact your local fire department visit:

The Comox Valley Regional District is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities providing sustainable services for residents and visitors to the area. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

Jennifer Steel

Manager of Corporate Communications, Corporate Services Branch, Comox Valley Regional District