On Tuesday, November 20th the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) Board of Directors held its inaugural meeting.

The CVRD Board is made up of Municipal Mayors and Councillors appointed as Directors from their areas, and the elected representatives from the electoral areas. CVRD Directors serve for a four-year term, and the directors elect the Chair and Vice-Chair position each November.

Providing more than 100 services to residents within the region, the new CVRD board consists of the following ten directors:

  • Daniel Arbour, Electoral Area A
  • David Frisch, City of Courtenay
  • Ken Grant, Town of Comox
  • Edwin Grieve, Electoral Area C
  • Arzeena Hamir, Electoral Area B
  • Doug Hillian, City of Courtenay
  • Jesse Ketler, Village of Cumberland
  • Wendy Morin, City of Courtenay
  • Maureen Swift, Town of Comox
  • Bob Wells, City of Courtenay

This year the board elected Bob Wells as the Board Chair and Arzeena Hamir as Vice-Chair. Both will serve in these positions for the next year. Urban and rural interests for the region will be well represented by these board selections.

“This is an exciting time for the region,” explains CVRD Board Chair Wells. “So many new faces around the table to provide new perspectives and share their communities’ values. I am excited for the year ahead working together, focusing on our residents and what matters to them.”

For more information on the Comox Valley Regional District visit www.comoxvalleyrd.ca  

Jennifer Steel

Manager of Corporate Communications, Comox Valley Regional District

CVRD Board of Directors
Front L- R: Daniel Arbour, Arzeena Hamir, Edwin Grieve
Back L- R : Maureen Swift, Bob Wells, David Frisch, Doug Hillian, Jesse Ketler, Ken Grant and Wendy Morin