Photo provided by Comox Valley Schools: 2018 – 2022 Board of Education, Comox Valley. Back row standing (l-r): Kat Hawksby, Janice Caton and Tonia Frawley. Front sitting (l-r) Michelle Waite, Ian Hargreaves, Sarah Jane Howe, and Sheila McDonnell.

A new four-year term for the school district Board of Education commenced Tuesday with an inaugural board meeting for trustees to take an Oath of Office. Comox Valley Schools welcomed four new trustees to the board following the 2018 local elections including Tonia Frawley, Town of Comox; Kathleen Hawksby, City of Courtenay; Sarah Jane Howe, Village of Cumberland; and Michelle Waite, Area B. Returning trustees include Janice Caton, City of Courtenay, Ian Hargreaves, Area C and Sheila McDonnell, Area A. During the inaugural meeting, trustees voted for a new Board Chair and Vice Chair. Each will serve a one-year term. The 2018 Board Chair and Vice-Chair are Janice Caton and Tonia Frawley, respectively.

Regular monthly board meetings resume 27 November and continue monthly on the fourth Tuesday until June. Meetings commence promptly at 7 p.m. unless otherwise stated. On the Friday prior to each Board Meeting, the district will post the agenda on the website at The December meeting will be held on the third Tuesday to
accommodate the Winter Break.

Comox Valley Schools Board of Education belongs to the BC School Trustee Association (BCSTA) whose mission is to support and advocate for a high-quality public education system as the foundation of a democratic society. Improving student achievement is the key work of locally elected boards of education.

To view the Inaugural Board Meeting visit YouTube at:

For more information on BCSTA visit

Mary Lee

Manager Communications & Community Engagement, School District 71 Comox Valley