The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) in partnership with the City of Courtenay, Town of Comox and Village of Cumberland are encouraging residents to vote on October 20, 2018 in the local government elections.

“Every resident has their own opinions, values, and concerns regarding their community,” explains Jake Martens, CVRD Deputy Chief Election Officer. “No matter where you live, your vote can help shape your neighborhood and community on important issues such as traffic management, education, parks, recreation, emergency services, infrastructure projects and so many more.”

Local government elections will take place on Saturday, October 20, 2018.

Voters in Courtenay will elect one Mayor, six Councillors and two School Trustees, voters in the Town of Comox will elect one Mayor, six Councillors and one School Trustee and voters in the Village of Cumberland will elect one Mayor, four Councillors and one School Trustee.

The Comox Valley Regional District is responsible for conducting the elections for three Electoral Area Directors, one in each of Electoral Area A (Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands), Electoral Area B (Lazo North), and Electoral Area C (Puntledge – Black Creek). In addition, the CVRD will also conduct voting for Denman and Hornby Island Local Trust Area Trustees, two on each island, and for three School District No. 71 School Trustees, one in each of Electoral Areas A, B and C.

For more information about this year’s voting opportunities and locations visit:

Jennifer Steel

Manager of Corporate Communications, Comox Valley Regional District